Skyrunner storyAlessandro Rostagno
26 November 2020

Becoming a parent can mean there’s no time or energy left to pursue your passions, but Alessandro started trail and skyrunning because he become a parent. 

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 118720043_10218535950891894_5937248166745124511_o-1024x768.jpg


Who is Alessandro Rostagno?

After spending 20 years competing in mountain bike races all over the world, Alessandro’s time for spending in the mountains was significantly reduced when he became a father 2 years ago. 

Through a deep love developed for the mountains from when he was growing up, finding the balance between being a parent and being able to get in to the mountains was essential for Alessandro. He needed to find a new way. 

With less free time available he took up trail and skyrunning to make the most of the mountains surrounding his home in northern Italy. It is here where he squeezes his ‘mountain fix’ into family life, and always with a personal challenge to go faster and faster!

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 70854170_10215782809905090_8109686462951194624_n.jpg

This is his story… 

Can you describe yourself with two sentences? 

I like to think and act in a different way to the other people. But, first of all, I take care of my family and my job. 

What is most important for you inlife? 

For sure my family, but also to have free time for my passions. 

When did you start skyrunning? Why do you do it and what do you like the most about it?

I always did sport in mountains, in particular MTB. I spent my last 20 years doing MTB races all over the world, in particular marathon and technical races. When Bianca is born, I decided to continue to do sport in the mountains, but having less free time I decided to start with trail and skyrunning. I like to climb the beautiful mountains of my home valleys and I like to try to do it as fast as I can! 

What are your personal strengths that took to this level of running?

I’m good at climbing due to my MTB activity in the past, and I’m good on technical sections because I spent a lot of time in mountains since I was young, meaning I know how to move over difficult and technical terrain. 

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 39408960_10212861469633409_4051427407477866496_n.jpg

Is Skyrunning a hobby or is it something you do for a living? 

Unfortunately it’s only a hobby. 

Do you usually push yourself outside your comfort zone? How does it feel at the time? 

I often like to push outside of my comfort zone! I like how it makes me feel because I know I am becoming stronger! 

How did your race plans and goals look like for 2020/2021?

The main goal in this strange season was the EDF Cenis Tour in France; 83 km and 

4700 D+. It would have been a fantastic adventure and my first ultra trail.

What does a normal training week look like for you? 

I train in my lunch breaks for 1 hour – running or sometimes cycling. 

In summer I like training in the early morning, I love being out in the fresh air. At the weekends I usually go for a long run in mountains – 4 hours or more with a lot of D+. 

Whichare your best training tips to otherSkyrunnersall over the world? 

Don’t fear a crisis! Disasters and bad times on the trail always go pass. Focus on feeling better afterwards! 

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 116900443_10218345230764010_2941432843536121049_o-1024x1024.jpg

Do you have any skyrunning dreams and goals for the future?

I have a lot of dreams to run ultras; first of all to run a 100 mile race, UTMB, Grand Raid Reunion (where I spent my honeymoon with Silvia), and maybe the Tor de Geants. 

What is your advice to other people who are dreaming of being a skyrunner?

First of all, it is necessary to have a big love for the mountains. Then you need perseverance for training in all weather conditions! 

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 110301356_10218201374167685_2199057620117459462_n.jpg

Name:Alessandro Rostagno 

Nationality: Italian 

Age: 42 

Family:  My wife Silvia and mydaughterBianca, 2 years old 

Country/town: TorrePellice, ITALY 

Your team or sponsor now: ASD VIGONECHECORRE 

Occupation: Employee 

Education: Secondary High School   

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/alessandro.rostagno.9/ 

Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/alessandrorostagno/?hl=it 


Like and share this blog post